## §5803. Eligibility for hearing; State Prison

A prisoner at the Maine State Prison or Maine Correctional Center becomes eligible for a hearing by the board as follows: [PL 1983, c. 459, §6 (NEW).]

**1. Expiration of minimum term in minimum-maximum sentence.** Prior to the expiration of the prisoner's minimum term of imprisonment, less the deduction for good behavior, when the law provides for a minimum-maximum sentence;

[PL 1983, c. 459, §6 (NEW).]

**2. Expiration of 1/2 of term in certain cases.** Prior to the expiration of 1/2 of the term of imprisonment imposed by the court, less the deduction for good behavior, when the prisoner has been convicted of an offense under Title 17, section 1951, 3151, 3152 or 3153. This subsection applies to a prisoner who has been convicted previously of an offense under Title 17, section 1951, 3151, 3152 or 3153;

[PL 1983, c. 459, §6 (NEW).]

**3. Expiration of 15-year term in life imprisonment cases.** Prior to the expiration of a 15-year term of imprisonment, less deduction for good behavior, when the prisoner has been convicted of an offense punishable only by life imprisonment; and

[PL 1983, c. 459, §6 (NEW).]

**4.** Expiration of 15-year term in other cases. Prior to the expiration of a 15-year term of imprisonment, less deduction for good behavior, when, following conviction, the prisoner has been sentenced to a minimum term of 15 years or more.

[PL 1983, c. 459, §6 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1983, c. 459, §6 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.