§3044. Escapees; fugitives; apprehension

- **1. Escapees.** The commissioner shall take all proper measures for, and may, with the approval of the Governor, offer a reward for the apprehension and return of any client in any correctional or detention facility who has escaped from the control of the department.
 - A. The reward may not exceed \$1,000. [PL 1983, c. 581, §§24, 59 (RPR).]
 - B. Upon satisfactory proof that the terms of the reward offer have been complied with, the Governor may draw a warrant upon the Treasurer of State for the payment of the reward. [PL 1991, c. 314, §48 (AMD).]

[PL 1991, c. 314, §48 (AMD).]

- 2. Fugitives. When there is reasonable cause to believe that a person charged with a crime and unapprehended for it cannot be arrested and secured in the ordinary course of proceedings, the Governor may, upon application in writing of the Attorney General or district attorney for the county in which the crime was committed, and upon terms which he deems expedient and proper, offer a suitable reward for the arrest, return and delivery into custody of the fugitive from justice.
 - A. The reward may not exceed \$1,000. [PL 1983, c. 581, §§24, 59 (RPR).]
 - B. Upon satisfactory proof that the terms of the reward offer have been complied with, the Governor may draw his warrant upon the Treasurer of State for the payment of the reward. [PL 1983, c. 581, §§24, 59 (RPR).]

[PL 1983, c. 581, §§24, 59 (RPR).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1983, c. 459, §6 (NEW). PL 1983, c. 581, §§24,59 (RPR). PL 1991, c. 314, §48 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.