## §2067. When gift obligation presumed abandoned

- 1. Presumed abandoned after 2 years. Subject to section 2070, a gift obligation is presumed abandoned 2 years after December 31st of the year in which the obligation arises or the most recent transaction involving the obligation occurs, whichever is later. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]
  - 2. Amount unclaimed. The amount unclaimed of a gift obligation is as follows:
  - A. For a gift obligation whose issuance or whose most recent transaction, whichever is later, occurred during calendar year 2019 or earlier, 60% of the net obligation value at the time it is presumed abandoned; [PL 2019, c. 553, §1 (NEW).]
  - B. For a gift obligation whose issuance or whose most recent transaction, whichever is later, occurred during calendar year 2020, 40% of the net obligation value at the time it is presumed abandoned; [PL 2019, c. 553, §1 (NEW).]
  - C. For a gift obligation whose issuance or whose most recent transaction, whichever is later, occurred during calendar year 2021, 20% of the net obligation value at the time it is presumed abandoned; and [PL 2019, c. 553, §1 (NEW).]
  - D. For a gift obligation whose issuance or whose most recent transaction, whichever is later, occurred during calendar year 2022 or after, 0% of the net obligation value at the time it is presumed abandoned. [PL 2019, c. 553, §1 (NEW).]

[PL 2019, c. 553, §1 (AMD).]

- **3.** Not presumed abandoned; sales by a single issuer under \$250,000. A gift obligation is not presumed abandoned if it was sold by a single issuer who in the past calendar year sold no more than \$250,000 in face value of gift obligations. Sales of gift obligations are considered sales by a single issuer if the sales were by businesses that operate either:
  - A. Under common ownership or control with another business or businesses in the State; or [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]
- B. As franchised outlets of a parent business. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).] [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]
- **4. No period of limitation for redemption.** A period of limitation may not be imposed on the owner's right to redeem the gift obligation. [PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]
- **5.** No charges or fees; exception, disclosure. Notwithstanding section 2112, fees or charges may not be imposed on gift obligations, except that the issuer may charge a transaction fee for the initial issuance. The fee must be disclosed in a separate writing prior to the initial issuance or referenced on the gift obligation.

[PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

**6. Redemption; balance in cash.** If a gift obligation is redeemed in person and a balance of less than \$5 remains following redemption, at the consumer's request the merchant redeeming the gift obligation must refund the balance in cash to the consumer. This subsection does not apply to a gift obligation with an initial value of \$5 or less.

[PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 498, §22 (NEW). PL 2019, c. 553, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.