§1058. Failure to give notice; penalty

If the finder of lost money or goods of the value of \$3 or more neglects to give notice to the town clerk and to cause the lost money or goods to be advertised as provided under section 1051, the finder forfeits to the owner the full value of the lost money or goods unless the finder delivers or accounts for the lost money or goods to the owner, in which case the finder must forfeit not more than \$20, 1/2 to the town and 1/2 to the prosecutor. [PL 2019, c. 437, §12 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2019, c. 437, §12 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.