§9903. Board of Licensing of Dietetic Practice; establishment; compensation

1. Establishment and membership. There is established, within the department, the Board of Licensing of Dietetic Practice. The board consists of 5 members appointed by the Governor, including 2 public members as defined in Title 5, section 12004-A. Other than these public members, the persons appointed to the board must have been engaged in rendering dietetic services to the public or in teaching or research in dietetics for at least 2 years immediately preceding their appointments. Two board members must be dietitians. The 5th member must be a dietetic technician. The professional members must at all times be holders of valid licenses under this chapter, except for the members of the first board, each of whom must fulfill the requirements for licensing under this chapter. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. Y, §1 (AMD).]

2. Terms of appointment. Appointments are for 3-year terms. Appointments of members must comply with Title 10, section 8009. A member of the board may be removed from office for cause by the Governor.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. Y, §1 (AMD).]

3. Meetings; chair. The board shall meet at least once a year to conduct its business and to elect a chair. Additional meetings must be held as necessary to conduct the business of the board and may be convened at the call of the chair or a majority of the board members. [PL 2013, c. 246, Pt. B, §20 (AMD).]

4. Compensation.

[PL 1995, c. 625, Pt. A, §39 (RP).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1985, c. 389, §28 (NEW). PL 1987, c. 313, §3 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 600, §A263 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 397, §97 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 402, §§A28,29 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 402, §A29 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 625, §A39 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. Y, §1 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 246, Pt. B, §20 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

1