§6219. Expiration and renewal

All licenses issued pursuant to this chapter expire annually on November 30th or at such other time as the Commissioner of Professional and Financial Regulation may designate. Licensees must renew their licenses on or before November 30th annually or on such other date as determined by the commissioner by filing an application, completing any continuing education requirements established by board rule and paying the renewal fee as set under section 6215. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. U, §13 (AMD).]

Licenses issued pursuant to this chapter may be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration upon payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee as set under section 6215. Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the renewal date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, except that the board may in its discretion, giving due consideration to the protection of the public, waive examination if that renewal application is received, together with the late fee and renewal fee as set under section 6215, within 2 years from the date of that expiration or if the applicant is an inactive status alcohol and drug counselor. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. U, §13 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1977, c. 466, §2 (NEW). PL 1983, c. 413, §220 (AMD). PL 1987, c. 395, §A211 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 831, §10 (AMD). PL 1991, c. 456, §32 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 394, §26 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 685, §19 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 347, §21 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 347, §25 (AFF). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. U, §13 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.