§553-A. Licenses renewal procedure; continuing education

- 1. Renewal procedure. A license expires on the date set by the commissioner pursuant to Title 10, section 8003, subsection 4 for the licensing period for which the license was issued. A renewal license must be issued for each ensuing licensing period in the absence of any reason or condition that might warrant the refusal to grant a license, upon receipt by the board of the written request of the applicant and the fee for the license as set under section 558 and upon the applicant's presenting evidence of compliance with the requirements of subsection 2. An expired license may be reissued up to 90 days after the date of expiration upon payment of a late fee as set under section 558 in addition to a renewal fee as set under section 558. An individual who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license expiration date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, including a renewal fee, late fee and additional late fee as set under section 558, except that the board may, in its discretion and giving due consideration to the protection of the public, waive examination if that renewal application is made within 2 years from the date of that expiration. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. H, §11 (AMD).]
- 2. Continuing education. The board shall require applicants for license renewal to submit evidence of satisfactory completion of continuing education in accordance with rules adopted by the board.

[PL 1991, c. 392, §10 (NEW).]

3. Fees.

[PL 2005, c. 262, Pt. A, §5 (RP).]

4. Continuing education program approval. Each application for approval of a continuing education program or course must be submitted according to rules adopted by board, together with a required fee as set under section 558.

[PL 2005, c. 262, Pt. A, §5 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 392, §10 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 600, §A50 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 502, §H22 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 386, §E1 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 262, §A5 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. H, §11 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.