§4318. Penalties

1. Administrative penalty. A person who fails to be licensed as provided by section 4312 or violates the sterilization, sanitation or safety standards adopted by the department under section 4313 is subject to an administrative penalty, imposed by the department, of not less than \$500 nor more than \$1,000 for each violation. Each day the violation remains uncorrected may be counted as a separate offense.

[PL 2023, c. 113, §7 (AMD).]

2. Enforcement. A person who fails to pay a penalty imposed pursuant to this chapter:

A. May be referred to the Attorney General for appropriate enforcement action; and [PL 2013, c. 264, §16 (NEW).]

B. In addition to all fines and penalties imposed pursuant to this chapter, is liable for any interest, costs and fees incurred by the department, including attorney's fees. [PL 2013, c. 264, §16 (NEW).]

[PL 2013, c. 264, §16 (NEW).]

3. Schedule of penalties. The department shall adopt major substantive rules in accordance with Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A establishing a schedule of penalties according to the nature and duration of the violation of this section.

[PL 2023, c. 113, §8 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2013, c. 264, §16 (NEW). PL 2023, c. 113, §§7, 8 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.