## §3835. License renewal

Licenses issued under this chapter expire biennially or as established by the Commissioner of Professional and Financial Regulation. A person licensed under this chapter shall submit, on or before the established expiration date, an application for license renewal together with the renewal fee as set under section 3833-A. Beginning January 1, 2020, a person that submits an application for license renewal shall demonstrate to the satisfaction of the board a one-time successful completion of a minimum of 3 contact hours of course work in family or intimate partner violence screening and referral and intervention strategies, including knowledge of community resources, cultural factors, evidence-based risk assessment and same-gender abuse dynamics. The board may accept equivalent courses in spousal or partner abuse screening and referral and intervention strategies or equivalent teaching or practice experience completed prior to January 1, 2020 in satisfaction of this requirement. Continuing education courses taken pursuant to this paragraph may be used to satisfy the licensee's required hours of continuing education. [PL 2013, c. 262, §2 (AMD).]

A license may be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration upon payment of a late fee in addition to the renewal fee as set under section 3833-A. Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license renewal date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, except that the board may in its discretion, giving due consideration to the protection of the public, waive examination if that renewal application is received, together with the late fee and renewal fee, within 2 years from the date of that expiration. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. Q, §11 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1967, c. 544, §82 (NEW). PL 1973, c. 220, §2 (AMD). PL 1975, c. 767, §\$45,46 (AMD). PL 1979, c. 189, §2 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 204, §10 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 413, §155 (RPR). PL 1983, c. 553, §46 (AMD). PL 1985, c. 481, §A62 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 502, §H32 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 323, §25 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. Q, §11 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 262, §2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.