§3652. Fees; reexamination; license renewal

The Director of the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation within the Department of Professional and Financial Regulation may establish by rule fees for purposes authorized under this chapter in amounts that are reasonable and necessary for their respective purposes, except that the fee for any one purpose may not exceed \$600 annually. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are routine technical rules pursuant to Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. P, §11 (AMD); PL 2011, c. 286, Pt. B, §5 (REV).]

An applicant for an examination for a license to practice podiatry shall pay, at the time of filing an application, a license application fee and a license fee as set under this section plus actual costs of examination administration. An applicant who fails to pass an examination is entitled to a reexamination within 6 months upon the payment of a fee, but only 2 such reexaminations are permitted. Podiatrists licensed in another state and applying for a license to practice in this State without examination shall pay an application fee and a license fee. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. P, §11 (AMD).]

A doctor of podiatric medicine licensed to practice podiatric medicine and surgery within this State shall apply on or before July 1st of every year or at such other time as the Commissioner of Professional and Financial Regulation may designate, to the board for a license renewal and pay the renewal fee as set under this section. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. P, §11 (AMD).]

On or before July 1st of every year, an applicant who is practicing podiatric medicine and surgery in this State shall include satisfactory evidence to the board that in the preceding license period the applicant has completed a program of continuing education as prescribed in the rules of the board. [RR 2007, c. 1, §18 (COR).]

An application for license renewal made not more than 90 days after the date of expiration must include a late fee in addition to the renewal fee as set under this section. An application received more than 90 days but less than 2 years after the expiration date is subject to the requirements for new applicants as well as continuing education requirements, if applicable, and a late fee, renewal fee and additional late fee as set under this section, except that the board, giving due consideration to the health, welfare and safety of the citizens of the State, may waive the examination requirement at its discretion. A license that has been expired for over 2 years may not be renewed and must be processed as a new application. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. P, §11 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1977, c. 267, §1 (RPR). PL 1981, c. 206 (RPR). PL 1993, c. 347, §1 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 600, §A245 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 257, §1 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 685, §12 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. P, §11 (AMD). RR 2007, c. 1, §18 (COR). PL 2011, c. 286, Pt. B, §5 (REV).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.