§2574. Locum tenens

An osteopathic physician who is a graduate of a school or college of osteopathic medicine approved by the American Osteopathic Association and who is of good repute may, at the discretion of the board, be given a temporary license to be effective for not more than 6 months after issuance, for the purpose of permitting the physician to serve as "locum tenens" for another osteopathic physician who is unable, because of illness or some other substantiated reason, to maintain the practice, thus fulfilling a need in that area for providing health services. The fee for such a license may be not more than \$600. [PL 2001, c. 492, §3 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1973, c. 374, §1 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 425, §5 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 600, §A176 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 50, §6 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 492, §3 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.