§2279. Qualifications

An applicant applying for a license as an occupational therapy practitioner must file a written application showing that the applicant meets the following requirements. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. L, §5 (AMD).]

1. Residence. [PL 2019, c. 287, §11 (RP).]

2. Character.

[PL 1997, c. 294, §6 (RP).]

2-A. Character references.

[PL 2013, c. 217, Pt. J, §2 (RP).]

3. Education. An applicant must present evidence satisfactory to the board of having successfully completed the academic and fieldwork requirements of an educational program in occupational therapy or occupational therapy assisting.

A. The occupational therapy or occupational therapy assisting educational program must be accredited by ACOTE. [PL 1997, c. 294, §6 (AMD).]

B. [PL 1997, c. 294, §6 (RP).] [PL 1997, c. 294, §6 (AMD).]

4. Experience.

[PL 1997, c. 294, §6 (RP).]

5. Examination. An applicant for licensure as an occupational therapy practitioner must pass an examination as provided for in section 2280-A. [PL 1997, c. 683, Pt. B, §20 (RPR).]

6. Licensure. An applicant may be licensed as an occupational therapist if the applicant has practiced as an occupational therapy assistant for 4 years, has completed the level II fieldwork requirements for an occupational therapist before January 1, 1988, and has passed the examination for occupational therapists.

Notwithstanding any provision of this chapter to the contrary, the board, in accordance with Title 10, section 8003-H and any applicable rules adopted pursuant to that section, shall establish a process to issue a license by endorsement for each license authorized under this chapter that the board determines is appropriate for licensure by endorsement. An applicant may submit an application under the process established under this section or any other licensure process authorized in this chapter. [PL 2021, c. 642, §13 (AMD).]

7. Certification. An applicant must submit a verification of certification form from NBCOT. The form must be completed and signed by NBCOT. An applicant applying within 3 months of having taken the certification examination who has the examination scores sent directly to the board is exempt from this requirement.

[PL 1997, c. 294, §6 (NEW).]

8. Fee. An applicant must pay an application fee and license fee as set under section 2285. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. L, §5 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1983, c. 746, §2 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 509, §13 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 212, §§2,3 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 294, §6 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 683, §§B19,20 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. L, §5 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 217, Pt. J, §2 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 287, §11 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 642, §13 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.