§1528-A. Continuing education

Renewal of a license under this chapter is contingent upon evidence of participation in continuing education as determined by the director. A licensee shall certify at time of renewal compliance with the continuing education requirements under this section. [PL 2019, c. 284, §17 (NEW).]

1. Limited interpreters. A holder of a limited interpreter license under former section 1524 or limited deaf interpreter license under former section 1524-A must complete at least 20 hours annually of continuing education in American Sign Language or the interpreting process. [RR 2019, c. 1, Pt. A, §43 (COR).]

2. Certified interpreters. A certified interpreter or certified deaf interpreter is required to maintain continued certification with the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf, Inc. or a comparable or successor organization recognized by the director.

[PL 2019, c. 284, §17 (AMD).]

3. Conditional interpreters. A conditional interpreter or conditional deaf interpreter must complete at least 20 hours annually of continuing education in American Sign Language or the interpreting process.

[PL 2019, c. 284, §17 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1999, c. 399, §15 (NEW). PL 1999, c. 399, §20 (AFF). PL 2005, c. 267, §4 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 284, §17 (AMD). RR 2019, c. 1, Pt. A, §43 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.