§14708. License fee and security deposit

1. Fees. The Director of the Office of Professional and Occupational Regulation within the department may establish by rule fees for purposes authorized under this subchapter in amounts that are reasonable and necessary for their respective purposes, except that the fee for any one purpose may not exceed \$300. Rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules pursuant to Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. KK, §17 (AMD); PL 2011, c. 286, Pt. B, §5 (REV).]

2. Dedicated revenues.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. KK, §17 (RP).]

- **3. Security deposit.** Every person that engages in the business of transient sellers of consumer merchandise, including the self-employed or those who employ one or more transient sellers of consumer merchandise, shall also make a security deposit of \$10,000 or of a sum equal to the anticipated yearly gross revenues in this State, whichever is less, with the department for the protection of consumers as described in section 14712. The security deposit may be made by a bond as drawn by the department and as secured by a surety approved by the department. Only one security deposit is required of each person engaged in transient sales of consumer merchandise. [PL 2001, c. 324, §12 (NEW).]
- **4. License issued.** The department shall issue to a transient seller of consumer merchandise and to employees of that transient seller a license upon receipt of a completed application with the fees as set under subsection 1 and the security deposit required by subsection 3.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. KK, §17 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2001, c. 324, §12 (NEW). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. KK, §17 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 286, Pt. B, §5 (REV).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.