§13734. Renewal of licenses

1. Renewal. A license expires on the date set by the commissioner pursuant to Title 10, section 8003, subsection 4 for the licensing period for which the license was issued. A renewal license is issued for each ensuing licensing period in the absence of any reason or condition that might warrant the refusal to grant a license, upon receipt by the board of the written request of the applicant and the fee for the license as set under section 13724 and upon the applicant's presenting evidence of compliance with the requirements of section 13735.

Licenses may be renewed up to 90 days after the date of expiration upon payment of a late fee as set under section 13724 in addition to the renewal fee as set under section 13724. Any person who submits an application for renewal more than 90 days after the license renewal date is subject to all requirements governing new applicants under this chapter, including a late fee, renewal fee and additional late fee as set under section 13724, except that the board may, giving due consideration to the protection of the public, waive examination if that renewal application is made within 2 years from the date of that expiration.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. DD, §15 (AMD).]

2. Inactive renewal license. A licensed pharmacist not practicing pharmacy within this State shall pay, on or before the expiration date as determined by the commissioner, a renewal fee as set under section 13724, in return for which an inactive renewal license must be issued.

A licensed pharmacist holding an inactive renewal license who desires to practice pharmacy in this State is required to submit proof satisfactory to the board that, during the calendar year preceding application for active licensure, the pharmacist has participated in not less than 15 hours of approved courses of continuing professional pharmaceutical education as defined in section 13735. The board may make exceptions to the continuing education requirement of this section in emergency or hardship cases.

If any person fails or neglects to procure the annual inactive renewal license, after the expiration of 30 days that person's original license expires. That person, in order to regain licensure, is required to pay one renewal fee as set under section 13724 in addition to the sum of all fees that person may be in arrears.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. DD, §15 (AMD).]

```
3. Fees.
```

[PL 2005, c. 262, Pt. B, §9 (RP).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 710, §5 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 600, §A270 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 262, §B9 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. DD, §15 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.