§12502. Board of Complementary Health Care Providers established

1. Membership. The Board of Complementary Health Care Providers, as established in Title 5, section 12004-A, subsection 8-A, shall regulate the professions of acupuncture, naturopathic medicine and midwifery according to the provisions of this chapter. The board consists of 9 members appointed by the Governor. The Governor shall make the initial appointments to the board no later than 60 days after the effective date of this section and shall inform the Commissioner of Professional and Financial Regulation of these appointments. The commissioner shall call the first meeting of the board on a date no later than 30 days following notification of appointments by the Governor. All members of the board must be residents of this State. Two members of the board must be acupuncturists licensed in this State. Two members of the board must be naturopathic doctors who are eligible for licensure under, or are licensed pursuant to, the requirements of subchapter 3. One member must be a certified professional midwife licensed in this State. One member must be a midwife of any classification licensed in this State. One member must be a public member as defined in Title 5, section 12004-A. One member must be an allopathic or osteopathic physician, board-certified in obstetrics and gynecology, who is licensed in this State. One member must be a physician or nurse practitioner with a specialty in pediatric care who is licensed in this State. [PL 2015, c. 502, §6 (AMD).]

2. Terms. Appointments are for 3-year terms. Appointments of members must comply with Title 10, section 8009. The Governor may remove any member for cause.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §1 (AMD).]

3. Qualifications. Each board member, other than the public member, must have been engaged in the active practice of the member's profession in the State for a minimum of 3 years prior to appointment.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §1 (AMD).]

4. Vacancy. [PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §1 (RP).]

5. Quorum.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §1 (RP).]

6. Meetings; chair. The board shall meet at least once a year to conduct its business and elect a chair. Additional meetings must be held as necessary to conduct the business of the board and may be convened at the call of the chair or a majority of the board members. [PL 2013, c. 246, Pt. B, §22 (AMD).]

7. Reporting.

[PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §1 (RP).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 671, §13 (NEW). PL 1997, c. 727, §C11 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 402, Pt. AA, §1 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 246, Pt. B, §22 (AMD). PL 2015, c. 502, §6 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.