§1231-A. Licensure requirements

1. Licensure requirements. Except as provided in section 1233-A, the department shall issue a license to any person under this chapter who:

A. Is at least 17 years of age; [PL 1991, c. 416, §3 (NEW).]

B. Has a high school diploma or its equivalent; and [PL 1991, c. 416, §3 (NEW).]

C. Passes an inspection under section 1243 within 60 days before the license is issued. [PL 2013, c. 264, §9 (AMD).]

[PL 2021, c. 125, §19 (AMD).]

2. Exemption. A person who has a valid electrology license from the department as of January 1, 1991 is exempt from the requirements of subsection 1.

[PL 1991, c. 416, §3 (NEW).]

3. Reciprocity. Except as provided in section 1233-A and notwithstanding the requirements of subsection 1, the department shall issue a license to any applicant under this chapter who provides the department with evidence that the applicant has 3 years of experience as an electrologist in another state. That proof must consist of notarized copies of the license or registration issued by the state where the applicant last practiced electrology.

[PL 2021, c. 125, §19 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1991, c. 416, §3 (NEW). PL 2013, c. 264, §9 (AMD). PL 2021, c. 125, §19 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and Frist Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

1