## §2357. Public access to quasi-municipal decisions

**1. Public notice and hearing required.** All quasi-municipal corporations or districts must provide reasonable public notice and hearing, as provided by Title 5, section 8052, subsection 1 and Title 5, section 8053, before adopting any regulation or expanding or creating any program, except that notice need not be given to the Secretary of State for publication in the consolidated newspaper notice of agency rulemaking. In addition to the preceding notice requirements, a quasi-municipal corporation or district must publish notice in a newspaper of general circulation in the service area of the corporation or district at least 17 days, but not more than 24 days, in advance of a meeting at which a regulation will be adopted or a program expanded or created.

[PL 1995, c. 655, §1 (AMD).]

**2. Regulation or program void.** Except in the case of emergency regulations of limited duration, bond issues, rate proceedings or actions relating to indebtedness, any regulation adopted or program created or expanded by a quasi-municipal corporation or district after December 30, 1989, is void unless the quasi-municipal corporation or district provided reasonable public notice and hearing as required by subsection 1 before adopting the regulation or creating or expanding the program. [PL 1989, c. 479 (NEW).]

**3. Exemption.** This section does not apply to any public utility, as defined in Title 35-A, section 102, subsection 13, regulated by the Public Utilities Commission.

[PL 1991, c. 226 (NEW).]

## SECTION HISTORY

## PL 1989, c. 479 (NEW). PL 1991, c. 226 (AMD). PL 1995, c. 655, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.