§4994. Heating oil price increases

- 1. Initial trigger. If home heating oil prices increase more than 40% in any 14-day period during the home heating season, the authority shall immediately:
 - A. Estimate funds needed to provide adequate assistance to residents eligible at that time to receive fuel assistance under this subchapter; and [PL 1999, c. 758, §4 (NEW).]
 - B. Notify the Governor, the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over utilities and energy matters, the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over business and economic development matters and the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over appropriations and financial affairs of the estimated funding need. [PL 1999, c. 758, §4 (NEW).]

[PL 1999, c. 758, §4 (NEW).]

- **2. Higher trigger.** If home heating oil prices increase more than 50% in any 14-day period during the home heating season, the authority shall immediately:
 - A. Estimate funds needed to provide adequate assistance:
 - (1) To residents eligible at that time to receive fuel assistance under this subchapter; and
 - (2) To residents not eligible at that time to receive fuel assistance under this subchapter but who, as a result of the oil price increase, require fuel assistance under this subchapter; and [PL 1999, c. 758, §4 (NEW).]
 - B. Notify the Governor, the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over utilities and energy matters, the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over business and economic development matters and the joint standing committee of the Legislature having jurisdiction over appropriations and financial affairs of the estimated funding need. [PL 1999, c. 758, §4 (NEW).]

[PL 1999, c. 758, §4 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1999, c. 758, §4 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.