## §3862. Enforcement of lien; notice of sale; proceeds

**1.** Sale at auction. The innkeeper, hotelkeeper or boardinghouse keeper shall retain any baggage and other property upon which there has been a lien for 90 days. At the end of the 90-day period, if the lien is not satisfied, the baggage and other property may be sold at public auction.

[PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. C, §106 (NEW); PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. C, §§8, 10 (AMD).]

2. Notice required. The innkeeper, hotelkeeper or boardinghouse keeper must:

A. Give 10 days' notice of the time and place of sale in a newspaper having general circulation in the county where the inn, hotel or boardinghouse is located; and [PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. C, §106 (NEW); PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. C, §§8, 10 (AMD).]

B. Mail a copy of the notice addressed to the guest or boarder at the place of residence entered in the register of the inn, hotel or boardinghouse. [PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. A, §38 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. C, §§8, 10 (AMD).]

[PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. A, §38 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. C, §§8, 10 (AMD).]

**3. Proceeds.** After using the proceeds from the sale to satisfy the lien and any costs that may accrue, the keeper shall dispose of any remainder according to Title 33, chapter 45. [PL 2019, c. 498, §20 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 737, §§A2,C106 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 104, §§A38,C8,C10 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 20, §T17 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 498, §20 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.