§3424. Adjustment of amounts paid for permits

1. Arbitration of permit fee. Any person who is dissatisfied with the fee required to connect with a public drain may, within 10 days after notice of that amount, make a written request to the municipal officers to have the amount of the fee determined by arbitration. The municipal officers shall nominate 6 persons. The applicant shall select 2 of these persons and a 3rd person who was not nominated by the municipal officers to act as arbitrators. These 3 persons may fix the amount of the fee. The arbitrators shall report their findings to the municipal clerk who shall record them with the proceedings of the municipal officers in establishing the drains.

[PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. C, §106 (NEW); PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. C, §§8, 10 (AMD).]

2. Payment of fees. By paying the amount set by the arbitrators and the fees of the arbitrators, the applicant shall receive a permit. The municipal officers may determine the fees of the arbitrators, which shall be paid in advance, if required.

[PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. C, §106 (NEW); PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. C, §§8, 10 (AMD).]

3. Failure to pay for permit. If any person neglects to pay the fee determined by arbitration under subsection 1 and the fees of the arbitrators, within 60 days after notice of that fee, that person shall have no benefit of that determination or of that person's permit.

[PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. C, §106 (NEW); PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. C, §§8, 10 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 737, §§A2,C106 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 104, §§C8,10 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.