§2955. Division of partition fences; record of assignments; fees

When the occupants or owners of adjacent lands disagree respecting their rights in partition fences and their obligation to maintain them, on application of either party, 2 or more fence viewers of the town where the lands lie, after reasonable notice to each party, may in writing under their hands assign to each the occupants' or owners' share thereof and limit the time in which each shall build or repair each occupant's or owner's part of the fence, not exceeding 30 days. Such assignment and all other assignments of proprietors of partition fences provided for, recorded in the town clerk's office, shall be binding upon the parties and they shall thereafter maintain their part of the fence. If such fence has been built and maintained by the parties in unequal proportions and the fence viewers adjudge it to be good and sufficient, they may, after notice in writing under their hands, award to the party who built and maintained the larger portion the value of such excess, to be recovered in a civil action against the other party if not paid within 6 months after demand. Parties to assignments shall pay the fees of the fence viewers certified under their hands in equal proportions, and if either party neglects to pay the party's proportion within one month after demand, the party applying to the fence viewers may pay the same and recover of the delinquent party, in a civil action, double the amount of that party's proportion thereof. [PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1987, c. 737, Pt. C, §106 (NEW); PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD); PL 1989, c. 104, Pt. C, §§8, 10 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 737, §§A2,C106 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 6 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 9, §2 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 104, §§C8,10 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.