Maine Revised Statutes

Title 29-A: MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC
Chapter 15: INSPECTION AND REPAIR

81766. INSPECTION STICKERS

1. Stickersremain property of State. Inspection stickers and materials issued to inspection stations by
the Chief of the State Police remain the property of the State.

[ 1993, c. 683, Pt. A §2 (NEW; 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, 85 (AFF) .]

2. Stock of stickers. Aninspection station must stock a sufficient number of stickersto meet all
demands. The stickers must be made of a material and quality of adhesive prescribed by the Chief of the State
Police.

[ 1993, c. 683, Pt. A 8§2 (NEW; 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, 85 (AFF) .]

3. Fee. Except as provided in subsection 3-A, stickers are furnished by the Chief of the State Police at
$2.50 each.

[ 2011, c. 191, §2 (AVD) .]

3-A. Feefor new vehicledealers. Stickersfurnished to anew vehicle deder, as defined in section 851,
subsection 9, by the Chief of the State Police are $3.50 each.

[ 2011, c. 191, §3 (NEW .]

4. Statement of intent to hire a certified mechanic. If astationisdisqualified by the loss of a certified
mechanic, the owner shall, within 5 working days, return all stickersto the Chief of the State Police.

The owner may file a statement of intent to hire a certified inspection mechanic within 14 working days, in
which case the Chief of the State Police shall hold the returned stickers for the licensee.

If astatement of intent is not filed, returned stickers may be reissued.
[ 1993, c. 683, Pt. A 82 (NEW,; 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, 85 (AFF) .]

5. Return or refund of unused stickers. Within 20 working days of the calendar year or the
suspension, revocation or termination of an inspection license, unused or expired stickers must be returned to
the Chief of the State Police and the purchase price refunded or exchanged for current year stickers. Refunds
or exchanges may only be made for full sheets of unused stickers.

[ 1993, c. 683, Pt. A §2 (NEW; 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, 85 (AFF) .]

6. Return of inspection materials. Upon suspension, revocation or termination of an inspection license,
the station owner or manager shall return all inspection materials to the Chief of the State Police, who shall
issue areceipt for the returned materials.

[ 1993, c. 683, Pt. A 82 (NEW; 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, 85 (AFF) .]
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The State of Maine clams a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this materia, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrightsand other rightsto statutory text arereserved by the Sate of Maine. Thetext included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legidatureand iscurrent through October 1, 2016. Thetextissubject to
changewithout notice. It isa version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Satutes
Annotated and supplementsfor certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes aso requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goa
is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or providelegd adviceor interpretation of Mainelaw to the public.
If you need legd assistance, please contact aquaified attorney.
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