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Title 29-A: MOTOR VEHICLES AND TRAFFIC

Chapter 11: DRIVER'S LICENSE

§1351. DRIVER EDUCATION

1. Driver education required for certain minors.  Except to operate a moped only, a license may
not be issued to a person under 18 years of age unless that person presents a certificate of successful
completion of an approved driver education course and examination. The requirement of completion of an
approved driver education course may be waived for a person who holds a valid driver's license from another
jurisdiction.

[ 1999, c. 470, §20 (AMD) .]

2. Approved course.  An approved driver education course is a course given by a:

A. Public secondary school; [1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW);  1993, c. 683, Pt.
B, §5 (AFF).]

B. Private secondary school approved for attendance purposes by the Commissioner of Education;
[1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW);  1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

C. Career and technical education center or a career and technical education region; or [1993, c.
683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW);  1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF);  2003, c. 545,
§5 (REV).]

D. Person licensed by the Secretary of State. [1997, c. 393, Pt. A, §37 (AFF);  1997,
c. 393, Pt. A, §35 (RPR).]

[ 1997, c. 393, Pt. A, §35 (AMD);  1997, c. 393, Pt. A, §37 (AFF);  2003,
c. 545, §5 (REV) .]

3. Certificate.  A successful course completion certificate may be issued if the course meets the
standards adopted by the Secretary of State. A certificate may not be issued to a person who was not at least
15 years of age when beginning the course.

[ 1997, c. 393, Pt. A, §37 (AFF);  1997, c. 393, Pt. A, §36 (RPR) .]

4. Requirements.  A driver education course approved under this subchapter must include instruction
that imparts the understanding and skills necessary to operate a motor vehicle safely in a situation in which a
motorcycle or vulnerable user is sharing the road with that motor vehicle.

[ 2015, c. 164, §2 (RPR) .]

SECTION HISTORY
1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW).  1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF).  1995, c. 402, §A47
(AMD).  1995, c. 505, §§12,13 (AMD).  1995, c. 505, §22 (AFF).  1997,
c. 393, §§A35,36 (AMD).  1997, c. 393, §A37 (AFF).  1997, c. 737, §6
(AMD).  1999, c. 470, §20 (AMD).  2003, c. 183, §1 (AMD).  2003, c. 545,
§5 (REV).  2015, c. 164, §2 (AMD).

Generated
10.13.2016   |  1



MRS Title 29-A §1351. DRIVER EDUCATION

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legislature and is current through October 1, 2016. The text is subject to
change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes
Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal
is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public.
If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

  |  2 Generated
10.13.2016


