§1003. Loaner registration certificate and plates

1. Application for certificate and plates. A dealer or an owner of a body shop, transmission shop or garage may apply for a loaner license and plates.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

2. Permissible use. A loaner plate may be used on a vehicle owned by the licensee for the sole purpose of loaning the vehicle to a customer when the customer's vehicle is disabled and in the garage for repairs. The limit on the use of the loaned vehicle is 7 consecutive days. The Secretary of State may extend the period to no more than 30 days. A fee for the use of a loaner plate may not be charged to a customer.

[PL 2003, c. 434, §14 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 434, §37 (AFF).]

3. Disabled vehicle registration; restrictions; permissions. The registration certificate assigned to the disabled vehicle must be carried in the loaner vehicle and produced upon demand of a law enforcement officer. Restrictions imposed on or permissions granted to the disabled vehicle apply to the loaner vehicle.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

4. Record. A complete record must be kept at the licensee's established place of business, stating the hour and date the vehicle is loaned and returned, the serial number of the vehicle loaned, the loaner plate number and the registration number of the customer's vehicle. Failure to keep this record is a traffic infraction.

[PL 1999, c. 771, Pt. C, §6 (AMD); PL 1999, c. 771, Pt. D, §§1, 2 (AFF).]

5. Operator license. Before releasing a vehicle to an operator, the licensee must see that the operator has a current operator license and record that operator's name and address. [PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

6. Personal use. A loaner plate may not be used by the licensee for personal use or pleasure, in

lieu of registration.

[PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. A, §2 (NEW); PL 1993, c. 683, Pt. B, §5 (AFF).]

7. Special vanity registration plates. A car dealer or an owner of a body shop, transmission shop or garage holding special vanity registration plates issued pursuant to section 459 may apply for special vanity loaner plates bearing the same combination of letters and numbers as appears on the special vanity registration plates. Special vanity loaner plates may not be used to supplement existing loaner registration numbers assigned. The Secretary of State shall charge an additional \$30 fee per special vanity loaner registration plate.

[PL 2011, c. 44, §2 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1993, c. 683, §A2 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 683, §B5 (AFF). PL 1999, c. 771, §C6 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 771, §§D1,2 (AFF). PL 2003, c. 434, §14 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 434, §37 (AFF). PL 2011, c. 44, §2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.