## §2078. Illegal sale of liquor

- 1. Sale of liquor without a valid license. Any person who, or any person whose employee or agent, sells liquor within the State without a valid license commits a Class E crime and, notwithstanding Title 17-A, section 4-A, shall be punished:
  - A. For the first offense, by a fine of not less than \$300 plus costs nor more than \$500 plus costs, which fine and costs may not be suspended, and an additional penalty of not more than 30 days imprisonment at the discretion of the court; [PL 1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]
  - B. For a 2nd offense, by a fine of not less than \$500 plus costs nor more than \$1,000 plus costs, which fine and costs may not be suspended, and an additional penalty of not more than 60 days imprisonment at the discretion of the court; and [PL 1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]
- C. For all subsequent offenses, by a fine of not less than \$1,000 plus costs and 60 days imprisonment, which fine and costs and sentence may not be suspended, and an additional penalty of 4 months imprisonment at the discretion of the court. [PL 1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).] [PL 1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]
- **2.** Employee or agent equally guilty. Any agent or other person in the employment of or on the premises of another, who violates or in any manner assists in violating any law relating to liquor, is equally guilty with the principal and is subject to the same penalties.

[PL 1987, c. 45, Pt. A, §4 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 45, §A4 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.