## §703-A. Prohibition of employment of violators as retail employees

1. Employment prohibited. A retail licensee may not employ a person as a retail employee if that person, within 2 years of the date of that person's application for employment, has been convicted of a first offense of violating section 2078 or section 2081, subsection 1, paragraph A or B. A retail licensee may not employ a person as a retail employee if that person, within 5 years of the date of that person's application for employment, has been convicted of a 2nd offense of violating section 2078 or section 2081, subsection 1, paragraph A or B.

[PL 1993, c. 254, §1 (AMD).]

**2. Affidavit required.** Retail licensees shall require a person applying for employment as a retail employee to furnish to the licensee an affidavit stating that the applicant has not been convicted of a first offense of violating section 2078 or section 2081, subsection 1, paragraph A or B, within 2 years of the date of the affidavit. Retail licensees shall require a person applying for employment as a retail employee to furnish to the licensee an affidavit stating that the applicant has not been convicted of a 2nd offense of violating section 2078 or section 2081, subsection 1, paragraph A or B, within 5 years of the date of the affidavit. The affidavit must be executed at the time of application. The bureau shall develop the affidavit required by this section and make single copies of that affidavit available to retailers.

[PL 1997, c. 373, §66 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1989, c. 526, §§3,28 (NEW). PL 1993, c. 254, §1 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 373, §66 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1, 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.