§2. Reports of deaths and injuries

1. Reports of deaths. The person in charge of any workplace as defined in section 1 provided by the State, a state agency, a county, a municipal corporation, a school district or other public corporation or political subdivision shall, within 8 hours after the occurrence, report the death of any person in the workplace or on the premises to the Director of the Bureau of Labor Standards, or the director's designee, by telephone or electronically, stating as fully as possible the cause of the death and the place where the deceased person has been sent and supplying other information relative to the death that may be required by the director who may investigate the causes of the death and require such precautions to be taken as will prevent the recurrence of similar events. A statement contained in any such report is not admissible in evidence in any action arising out of the death reported. [PL 2015, c. 138, §1 (AMD).]

2. Reports of serious physical injuries. The person in charge of any workplace as defined in section 1 provided by the State, a state agency, a county, a municipal corporation, a school district or other public corporation or political subdivision shall, within 24 hours after the occurrence, report all serious physical injuries requiring immediate hospitalization sustained by any person in the workplace or on the premises to the Director of the Bureau of Labor Standards, or the director's designee, by telephone or electronically, stating as fully as possible the extent and cause of the injury and the place where the injured person has been sent and supplying other information relative to the injury that may be required by the director who may investigate the causes of the injury and require such precautions to be taken as will prevent the recurrence of similar events. A statement contained in any such report is not admissible in evidence in any action arising out of the accident reported. [PL 2015, c. 138, §1 (AMD).]

3. Serious physical injuries defined. "Serious physical injuries," as used in this section, means an incident that results in an amputation, loss or fracture of any body part or that necessitates immediate hospitalization or formal admission to the inpatient service of a hospital or clinic for care or treatment.

SECTION HISTORY

[PL 2015, c. 138, §1 (AMD).]

PL 1969, c. 274, §1 (AMD). PL 1971, c. 620, §13 (AMD). PL 1975, c. 519, §3 (AMD). PL 1975, c. 717, §1 (AMD). RR 1995, c. 2, §57 (COR). PL 2003, c. 244, §1 (RPR). PL 2015, c. 138, §1 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.