§2319. Newborn children coverage

All individual and group nonprofit hospital and medical service organization contracts and certificates must provide that benefits are payable with respect to a newly born child from the moment of birth. [PL 2003, c. 517, Pt. A, §1 (AMD); PL 2003, c. 517, Pt. A, §13 (AFF).]

The coverage for newly born children must consist of coverage of injury, sickness or other benefits provided by the contract, including the necessary care and treatment of medically diagnosed congenital defects and birth abnormalities. [PL 1997, c. 604, Pt. C, §1 (AMD).]

If payment of a specific subscription fee is required to provide coverage for a child, the contract may require that notification of birth of a newly born child and payment of the required fees must be furnished to the nonprofit hospital or medical service organization within 31 days after the date of birth in order to have the coverage continue beyond that 31-day period. The payment may be required to be retroactive to the date of birth. Benefits required by section 2318-A must be paid regardless of whether coverage under this section is elected. [PL 1997, c. 604, Pt. C, §1 (AMD).]

The requirements of this section apply to all subscriber contracts delivered or issued for delivery in this State more than 120 days after the effective date of this Act. [PL 1997, c. 604, Pt. C, §1 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 770, §101 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 332, §N1 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 604, §C1 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 517, §A1 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 517, §A13 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.