## §2105. Service of process

1. Service of process upon any such insurer pursuant to section 2104 must be made by delivering to and leaving with the superintendent or some person in apparent charge of the superintendent's office 2 copies thereof and the payment to the superintendent of the fees as prescribed by section 601. The superintendent shall forthwith mail by registered or certified mail one of the copies of such process to the defendant at its principal place of business last known to the superintendent, and shall keep a record of all process so served upon the defendant. Such service of process is sufficient, as long as notice of such service and a copy of the process are sent within 10 days thereafter by registered or certified mail by plaintiff's attorney to the defendant at its last known principal place of business, and the defendant's receipt or receipt issued by the post office with which the letter is registered or certified, showing the name of the sender of the letter and the name and address of the person to whom the letter is addressed, and the affidavit of the plaintiff's attorney showing a compliance herewith are filed with the clerk of the court in which such action is pending on or before the date the defendant is required to appear, or within such further time as the court may allow.

[RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §203 (COR).]

- 2. Service of process in any such action, suit or proceeding shall in addition to the manner provided in subsection 1 be valid if served upon any person within this State, who in this State on behalf of such insurer, is:
  - A. Soliciting insurance; or [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]
  - B. Making any contract of insurance or issuing or delivering any policies or written contracts of insurance; or [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]
  - C. Collecting or receiving any premium for insurance; and a copy of such process is sent within 10 days thereafter by registered or certified mail by the plaintiff's attorney to the defendant at the last known principal place of business of the defendant, and the defendant's receipt, or the receipt issued by the post office with which the letter is registered or certified, showing the name of the sender of the letter and the name and address of the person to whom the letter is addressed, and the affidavit of the plaintiff's attorney showing a compliance herewith are filed with the clerk of the court in which such action is pending on or before the date the defendant is required to appear, or within such further time as the court may allow. [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

[PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

3. A plaintiff or complainant is not entitled to a judgment or to have the plaintiff's or complainant's complaint taken pro confesso under this section until the expiration of 30 days from the date of the filing of the affidavit of compliance.

[RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §204 (COR).]

**4.** Nothing in this section shall limit or abridge the right to serve any process, notice or demand upon any insurer in any other manner now or hereafter permitted by law.

[PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW). PL 1973, c. 585, §12 (AMD). RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §§203, 204 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November

1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.