
MRS Title 24-A, §752. PENALTIES AND LIABILITIES

Generated 
10.30.2023 §752. Penalties and liabilities |  1

§752.  Penalties and liabilities
1.  Violation.  A reinsurance intermediary, insurer or reinsurer found by the superintendent, after 

a hearing conducted in accordance with the Maine Administrative Procedure Act, to be in violation of 
any provision of this Title, is subject to the following.

A.  For each separate violation, a violator must pay a penalty of not less than $5,000 and not more 
than $100,000 for each separate violation.  [PL 1991, c. 828, §20 (NEW).]
B.  A violator is subject to revocation or suspension of its license.  [PL 1991, c. 828, §20 (NEW).]
C.  If a violation was committed by the reinsurance intermediary, the reinsurance intermediary shall 
make restitution to the insurer, reinsurer, rehabilitator or liquidator of the insurer or reinsurer for 
the net losses incurred by the insurer or reinsurer attributable to such violation.  [PL 1991, c. 828, 
§20 (NEW).]

[PL 1991, c. 828, §20 (NEW).]
2.  Final agency action.  The decision, determination or order of the superintendent pursuant to 

this section is a final agency action and may be appealed pursuant to section 236.
[PL 1991, c. 828, §20 (NEW).]

3.  Nonexclusivity of penalties.  Nothing contained in this section affects the right of the 
superintendent to impose any other penalties provided in this Title.
[PL 1991, c. 828, §20 (NEW).]

4.  Rights of others.  Nothing contained in this subchapter limits or restricts the rights of 
policyholders, claimants, creditors or other 3rd parties or confers any rights to those persons.
[PL 1991, c. 828, §20 (NEW).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 1991, c. 828, §20 (NEW). 

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include 
the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects 
changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 
1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. 
Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our 
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to 
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the 
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.


