§6226. Continuing Care Retirement Community - Certificate of Need Demonstration Project

The following provisions apply to applicants seeking to obtain a Certificate of Need from the department for the first Continuing Care Retirement Community Demonstration Project, pursuant to Title 22, chapter 103, and the Demonstration Project Rules as adopted by the department on April 16, 1987. [PL 1987, c. 563, §7 (NEW).]

1. Initial deposits. After the disclosure statement, the escrow agreement, the receipt and the continuing care agreement have been reviewed on a preliminary basis by the department's Certificate of Need staff, the department shall forward the documents with recommendations, if any, to the superintendent. All provisions of section 6203, including approval of the receipt and the escrow agreement by the superintendent, remain applicable. Thereafter the limit on deposits that may be collected may not exceed an amount equal to 10% of the entrance fee. Following issuance by the department of a Certificate of Need, any unsuccessful applicant for the first demonstration project shall refund amounts collected from subscribers with interest earned thereon pursuant to this chapter. The refunds must be made no later than 10 days after notification by the department to the unsuccessful applicant unless the unsuccessful applicant appeals the decision of the department as provided by former Title 22, chapter 103. If the applicant appeals and the appeal is denied, then refunds must be made no later than 10 days after notification of the denial.

[PL 2003, c. 510, Pt. A, §23 (AMD).]

2. Exception. Except as specifically addressed in this section, all other requirements of this chapter shall apply.

[PL 1987, c. 563, §7 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 563, §7 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 510, §A23 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.