## §6208. Continuing care agreement; consumer cooperative

As part of the continuing care agreement, a subscriber may purchase or acquire or be the beneficiary of a purchase or acquisition of a membership interest or share or shares in an incorporated or unincorporated group organized on a cooperative basis subject to the requirements of Title 13, chapter 85, subchapter I, governing consumer cooperatives or Title 13, chapter 85, subchapter I-A, governing cooperative affordable housing corporations. [PL 1995, c. 452, §25 (AMD).]

If a registration statement for the cooperative is filed with the Office of Securities, pursuant to the Maine Uniform Securities Act, Title 32, chapter 135, a copy must be simultaneously filed with the superintendent and a copy must be given to every purchaser of a membership interest or share in the cooperative at least 10 days prior to the sale of the interest or share. Any information required to be filed with the superintendent pursuant to this chapter and contained in the referenced registration materials may be filed in that format with the superintendent and need not be submitted under separate cover. If a registration statement is not filed with the Office of Securities, a disclosure statement containing, to the extent applicable, all the information required to register a security by qualification, pursuant to Title 32, section 16304, must be filed with the superintendent and given to every subscriber at least 10 days prior to the sale. In the alternative, a provider may elect to provide each subscriber a disclosure statement containing those provisions stated in section 6209 determined to be required by the superintendent. [PL 2005, c. 65, Pt. C, §13 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1987, c. 482, §1 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 452, §25 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 182, §8 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 65, §C13 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.