§3607. Capital funds required; existing insurers

- 1. A mutual assessment insurer heretofore organized to transact and transacting only fire, marine and glass insurance shall not have a net retention of liability on any one risk in excess of \$200 until its gross assets exceed \$2,000, after which its net retention of liability shall be as provided in section 3623. [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]
- 2. Mutual insurers organized prior to January 1968 to transact and transacting kinds of insurance other than fire, marine and glass shall have a guaranty capital fund in amount not less than as required under laws in force immediately prior to January 1, 1970, and if organized on or after January 1, 1968, shall have guaranty capital funds of not less than \$500,000. Such an insurer shall not be authorized to transact insurance until at least 1/4 of its guaranty capital funds have been paid in, in cash, and invested in such manner as is provided in chapter 13.

[PL 1973, c. 625, §150 (AMD).]

3. If an insurer operating under this section fails to comply with the superintendent's request to increase its paid-in guaranty capital funds within the amount otherwise required by law, it shall cease to write any class or kind of insurance other than fire, marine or glass until such time as the superintendent's request has been complied with.

[PL 1973, c. 585, §12 (AMD).]

4. Except as hereinabove provided, all such insurers holding subsisting certificates of authority immediately prior to January 1, 1970 may continue to be so authorized as long as qualified for such authority as under laws in force immediately prior to such effective date.

[PL 1973, c. 625, §150 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW). PL 1973, c. 585, §12 (AMD). PL 1973, c. 625, §150 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.