§3054. Hearing before Superintendent of Insurance

A named insured who has received a statement of reason for cancellation, or of reason for an insurer's intent not to renew a policy, may, within 30 days of the receipt of a statement of reason, request a hearing before the Superintendent of Insurance. The purpose of this hearing is limited to establishing the existence of the proof or evidence used by the insurer in its reason for cancellation or intent not to renew. The burden of proof of the reason for cancellation or intent not to renew is on the insurer. If an insurer's reason for nonrenewal is not based on a ground for cancellation permitted under section 3049, the insurer must provide proof or evidence that the reason for nonrenewal is a good faith reason and related to the insurability of the property. A statement from the insurer that the risk does not meet the insurer's underwriting guidelines alone is not considered sufficient proof or evidence. The superintendent shall adopt rules for carrying out this section. The superintendent may order the policy to continue in effect both pending and, if the superintendent finds in favor of the insured, subsequent to a hearing. If the superintendent finds in favor of the insure at a hearing, the superintendent may order the policy to remain in force for 14 days to allow the insured to obtain other coverage. [PL 2003, c. 671, Pt. A, §9 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1973, c. 239 (NEW). PL 1973, c. 585, §12 (AMD). PL 1979, c. 347, §13 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 172, §8 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 671, §A9 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.