\$3020. Policy and deposit note one contract; insolvency; liability of insured; note surrendered

- 1. A policy of insurance issued by a fire or marine insurer, domestic or foreign, and a deposit note given therefor are one contract. A loss under such policy or other equitable claims may be proved in defense to the note, though it was indorsed or assigned before it was due. [PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW).]
- 2. When an insurer becomes insolvent, the maker of the note is only liable for the equitable proportion thereof that accrued during the solvency. If the insolvency occurs within 60 days of the date of the note, it is void except for the amount of the maker's claim, if any, on the insurer. An insured may not be held to contribute to any losses or expenses beyond the amount of the insured's deposit note. At the expiration of the insured's term of insurance, the insured's note, on payment of all assessments for which it is liable, must be relinquished to the insured, except as provided in section 3021.

[RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §263 (COR).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1969, c. 132, §1 (NEW). RR 2021, c. 1, Pt. B, §263 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.