§2009-A. Cancellation and nonrenewal of surplus lines coverage

- 1. Notice. Cancellation and nonrenewal by an insurer of surplus lines coverage subject to this chapter shall not be effective unless received by the named insured at least 14 days prior to the effective date of cancellation or, when the cancellation is for nonpayment of premium, at least 10 days prior to the effective date of cancellation. A postal service certificate of mailing to the named insured at the insured's last known address shall be conclusive proof of receipt on the 5th calendar day after mailing. [PL 1989, c. 172, §1 (NEW).]
- **2. Exemption.** Cancellation and nonrenewal by an insurer of surplus lines coverage subject to this chapter shall not be subject to sections 2908 and 3007.

[PL 1989, c. 172, §1 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1989, c. 172, §1 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the First Regular and First Special Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through November 1. 2023. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.