## §154-D. Notice to vacate

No person lawfully occupying real property shall be required to move from a dwelling or move his business or farm operation without at least 90 days written notice from the department of the date by which such move is required. [PL 1971, c. 593, §22 (AMD).]

Any person displaced by a taking or acquisition who remains in occupancy after the date of acquisition may be required to pay compensation from the date of the acquisition. The compensation paid by the displaced person may not exceed fair rental value of the property based on short-term occupancy. If the displaced person and the department cannot reach agreement as to equivalent of fair rental value for the initial 90-day period after acquisition, each may apply to the State Claims Commission in writing for such a determination. The State Claims Commission's jurisdiction to determine the fair rental value is limited solely to the initial 90-day period. Any compensation to be paid by the displaced person after the initial 90-day period must be determined solely by the department. [PL 1999, c. 753, §2 (AMD).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1971, c. 333, §4 (NEW). PL 1971, c. 593, §22 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 272 (AMD). PL 1987, c. 395, §A96 (AMD). PL 1999, c. 753, §2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.