§8402. Licensure

1. License required.

[PL 1983, c. 386, §4 (RP).]

2. Term of license.

[PL 1983, c. 386, §4 (RP).]

- **3. Requirements.** In order to receive a license from the department, a nursery school must meet the requirements of chapter 1673 applicable to nursery schools and the following requirements.
 - A. The department shall adopt rules regarding the health of staff as required to protect the health and safety of the children. The rules must include a requirement that every 2 years each licensee, administrator or other staff member of the nursery school who provides care for children be declared free from communicable disease by a licensed physician, nurse practitioner or physician assistant. Rules adopted pursuant to this paragraph are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. [PL 2019, c. 154, §10 (AMD); PL 2019, c. 154, §12 (AFF).]
 - B. Drinking water that is taken from sources other than a public water system must pass a test for bacteria, nitrates and nitrites every year and must pass a partial chemical test every 4 years. [PL 2001, c. 645, §10 (AMD).]
 - C. The nursery school carries minimum liability insurance of \$100,000 per person and \$300,000 per occurrence. [PL 2001, c. 645, §10 (AMD).]
 - D. [PL 2001, c. 645, §10 (RP).]
 - E. The nursery school meets, biennially, the fire safety requirements specified in section 8403, subsection 2. [PL 2005, c. 640, §5 (AMD).]
- F. [PL 2001, c. 645, §10 (RP).] [PL 2005, c. 640, §5 (AMD); PL 2019, c. 154, §10 (AMD); PL 2019, c. 154, §12 (AFF).]
- **3-A. Rules.** The department shall establish routine technical rules pursuant to Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter II-A for the safe operation of nursery schools. These rules must be reasonably related to the health and safety of children cared for in nursery schools. [PL 2001, c. 266, §1 (NEW).]
- **4. License issued promptly.** The department shall issue with reasonable promptness a license to each nursery school from which the department has received and verified documentation indicating that the nursery school has met the requirements included in subsection 3. [PL 1975, c. 709, §2 (NEW).]
 - 5. Fee.
- [PL 1993, c. 353, §6 (RP); PL 1993, c. 353, §7 (AFF).]
- **6. Relationship to licensing of child care facilities.** A nursery school must be licensed as a child care facility under chapter 1673.

[PL 2001, c. 645, §11 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1975, c. 709, §2 (NEW). PL 1977, c. 497, §8 (AMD). PL 1983, c. 386, §4 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 353, §6 (AMD). PL 1993, c. 353, §7 (AFF). PL 2001, c. 266, §1 (AMD). PL 2001, c. 645, §§10,11 (AMD). PL 2005, c. 640, §5 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 154, §10 (AMD). PL 2019, c. 154, §12 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.