Maine Revised Statutes

§3174-VV. Methadone reimbursement limitations


Effective January 1, 2013, reimbursement under the MaineCare program for methadone for the treatment of addiction to opiates as defined in Title 17-A, section 1101, subsection 7 is limited to a lifetime maximum of 24 months, except that reimbursement may be provided for longer than 24 months if prior authorization is received from the department. [RR 2011, c. 2, §27 (RAL).]

The department shall adopt rules to implement this section. Rules adopted pursuant to this section are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A. Prior to adopting rules under this section, the department shall seek input from stakeholders and experts in the field of substance abuse addiction and recovery, including, but not limited to, representatives of the Office of Substance Abuse and individuals with expertise in medication-assisted treatment. [RR 2011, c. 2, §27 (RAL).]

RR 2011, c. 2, §27 (RAL).