## §2841. Registration of fetal deaths

Except as authorized by the department or as required under section 1596, a certificate of each death of a fetus of 20 or more weeks of gestation that occurs in this State must be filed with the State Registrar of Vital Statistics or the clerk of the municipality where the delivery occurred within 14 days after delivery and prior to removal of the fetus from the State. [PL 2013, c. 14, §1 (AMD).]

1. Certificate filed by funeral director. The funeral director or other authorized person in charge of the disposition of the dead fetus or its removal from the State is responsible for filing the certificate. In the absence of such a person, the physician or other person in attendance at or after the delivery is responsible for filing the certificate. The funeral director or authorized person or physician or other person in attendance at or after delivery shall obtain the personal data from the best qualified person or source available and shall present the certificate to the person responsible for completing the medical certification of the cause of death.

[PL 2009, c. 601, §24 (AMD).]

- 2. Medical certificate by physician. The medical certification shall be completed and signed within 5 days after delivery by the physician in attendance at or after the delivery, except when an inquiry as to the cause of fetal death is required by law.

  [PL 1989, c. 274, §3 (AMD).]
- 3. Medical certificate by medical examiner. When the fetal death occurs without medical attendance upon the mother at or after delivery, or when inquiry as to the cause of fetal death is required by law, the medical examiner shall complete and sign the medical certification within 5 days after delivery. A certification need not be completed before the remains are ready for release. [PL 1989, c. 274, §3 (AMD).]
- **4. Certificate from hospital or institution.** When the fetal death occurs in a hospital or an institution, the person in charge of the hospital or institution or the person authorized to obtain the medical data shall prepare the certificate, certify by signature or by electronic process that the fetal death occurred at the place and time and on the date stated and file the certificate as directed in this section. The physician or other person in attendance shall provide the medical information required on the certificate in a timely fashion, as specified by department rule.

[PL 2013, c. 14, §2 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1977, c. 232, §1 (AMD). PL 1979, c. 363, §5 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 274, §§2,3 (AMD). RR 2009, c. 2, §54 (COR). PL 2009, c. 601, §24 (AMD). PL 2013, c. 14, §§1, 2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.