§2168. Fees

- 1. Application and renewal. Each application for, or renewal of, a license to operate a food establishment must be accompanied by a fee determined by the commissioner in accordance with subsection 5.
 - A. [PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. GGGG, §4 (RP).]
 - B. [PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. GGGG, §4 (RP).]
 - C. [PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. GGGG, §4 (RP).]

A license may be issued for a one-year, 2-year or 3-year period. Licenses for a period in excess of one year may only be issued with the agreement of or at the request of the applicant. The fee for a 2-year license is 2 times the annual fee. The fee for a 3-year license is 3 times the annual fee. [PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. GGGG, §4 (AMD).]

2. Food salvage. Each application for, or renewal of, a license to operate a food salvage establishment or to act as a salvage broker must be accompanied by a fee determined by the commissioner in accordance with subsection 5. A license may be issued for a one-year, 2-year or 3-year period. Licenses for a period in excess of one year may only be issued with the agreement of or at the request of the applicant. The fee for a 2-year license is 2 times the annual fee. The fee for a 3-year license is 3 times the annual fee.

[PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. GGGG, §5 (AMD).]

3. Refunds and transfers; General Fund. No fee is refundable. A license is not assignable or transferable. Fees collected by the commissioner pursuant to this section must be deposited in the General Fund.

[PL 1989, c. 888, §7 (NEW).]

4. Reinspection required for violations. If, upon inspection, the commissioner finds a licensee under this subchapter to be in violation of requirements of this subchapter or rules adopted under this subchapter, the commissioner shall issue a written citation describing the violation, the required corrective action to be taken by the licensee and the date by which the correction must be made. If the corrective action has not been taken within the specified period and a 3rd inspection is required in any one year, the commissioner may charge the licensee a reinspection fee not to exceed \$50. The commissioner shall notify the licensee in writing about the reinspection fee at the time the original citation is issued.

[PL 1991, c. 837, Pt. A, §48 (NEW).]

5. Rules. The commissioner shall adopt rules to establish a schedule of fees for licenses issued under this chapter. Fees must be appropriate to the size of the establishment. Notwithstanding Title 5, section 8071, subsection 3, paragraph B, rules adopted pursuant to this subsection are routine technical rules as defined in Title 5, chapter 375, subchapter 2-A.

[PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. GGGG, §6 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1979, c. 672, §A55 (NEW). PL 1989, c. 664, §3 (AMD). PL 1989, c. 888, §7 (RPR). PL 1991, c. 837, §A48 (AMD). PL 1997, c. 454, §10 (AMD). PL 2007, c. 539, Pt. GGGG, §§4-6 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The

Generated 01.07.2025 §2168. Fees 1

text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.