§2163. Sale of horsemeat prohibited

A person, firm, corporation or officer, agent or employee thereof within the State may not transport, receive for transportation, sell or offer for sale or distribution any equine meat or food products thereof or serve, expose or offer for sale or distribution, either in any public place or elsewhere, any equine meat or products containing equine meat. [PL 2021, c. 64, §2 (AMD).]

The Commissioner of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry shall by adequate inspection see that the requirements of this section are carried out. [PL 1979, c. 731, §19 (AMD); PL 2011, c. 657, Pt. W, §6 (REV).]

A person, firm or corporation that violates any of the provisions of this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not more than \$100 for the first offense and a fine of not more than \$200 for each subsequent offense must be adjudged, and the District and Superior Courts have concurrent jurisdiction of the offense. [PL 2021, c. 64, §2 (AMD).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1979, c. 731, §19 (AMD). PL 2011, c. 657, Pt. W, §6 (REV). PL 2021, c. 64, §2 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.