§1561. Removal of private nuisance

When any source of filth whether or not the cause of sickness is found on private property and determined to be potentially injurious to health, the owner or occupant thereof shall, within 24 hours after notice from the local health officer, at the owner's or occupant's own expense, remove or discontinue it. If the owner or occupant neglects to do so or unreasonably delays doing so, the owner or occupant forfeits a sum not exceeding \$300. The local health officer shall cause the nuisance to be removed or discontinued, and all expenses thereof must be repaid to the town by the owner or occupant or by the person who caused or permitted it. [RR 2021, c. 2, Pt. B, §93 (COR).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1973, c. 430 (AMD). RR 2021, c. 2, Pt. B, §93 (COR).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.