## §1554-B. Sale without valid license; multiple violations; penalties

1. License required. A person may not engage in retail tobacco sales or in free distribution of tobacco products in the ordinary course of trade in this State without a valid license issued under subchapter 1.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §6 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

- 2. Penalties. The following penalties apply to violations of this section.
- A. A person who violates subsection 1 commits a Class E crime for which the court shall impose a sentencing alternative involving a fine of not less than \$300 plus court costs and not more than \$500 plus court costs. The fine and costs may not be suspended. The court also may impose a sentencing alternative involving a term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §6 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- B. A person who violates subsection 1 and, at the time of the violation, has one prior conviction for violating this section commits a Class E crime for which the court shall impose a sentencing alternative involving a fine of not less than \$500 plus court costs and not more than \$1,000 plus court costs. The fine and costs may not be suspended. The court also may impose a sentencing alternative involving a term of imprisonment of not more than 60 days. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §6 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- C. A person who violates subsection 1 and, at the time of the violation, has 2 or more prior convictions for violating this section commits a Class E crime for which the court shall impose a sentencing alternative involving a fine of not less than \$1,000 plus court costs and a term of imprisonment of 60 days. The fine, court costs and term of imprisonment may not be suspended. The court also may impose as a sentencing alternative an additional term of imprisonment of not more than 4 months. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §6 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).] [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §6 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
- **3. Strict liability.** Violation of this section is a strict liability crime as defined in Title 17-A, section 34, subsection 4-A.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §6 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

**4. Prior convictions.** Title 17-A, section 9-A governs the use of prior convictions when determining a sentence.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §6 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 2003, c. 452, §K6 (NEW). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.