§1554-A. Sale of unpackaged cigarettes

1. Prohibition. A person may not:

A. Sell cigarettes except in the original sealed package in which they were placed by the manufacturer, which may not be smaller than 20 cigarettes per package; or [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §5 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

B. Sell cigarettes in smaller quantities than placed in the package by the manufacturer. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §5 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]
[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §5 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

2. Penalty; employee. A person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine af net less than \$10 and net more than \$100 meru he adjudged. In all against a finite section commits a civil violation for which a fine af net less than \$10 and net more than \$100 meru he adjudged.

fine of not less than \$10 and not more than \$100 may be adjudged. In all cases of violations, the court shall impose a fine that may not be suspended, except pursuant to Title 15, section 3314. [PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §5 (RPR); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

3. Penalty; employer. The employer of a person who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a fine of not less than \$100 and not more than \$1,000 may be adjudged. In all cases of violations, the court shall impose a fine that may not be suspended.

[PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. K, §5 (NEW); PL 2003, c. 452, Pt. X, §2 (AFF).]

SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 470, §9 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 470, §19 (AFF). PL 1997, c. 305, §3 (AMD). PL 2003, c. 452, §K5 (RPR). PL 2003, c. 452, §X2 (AFF).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.