## §1553-A. Sales of tobacco products; vending machines

In addition to the tobacco license required in section 1551-A, the sale of cigarettes or any other tobacco product through a vending machine is subject to the following provisions. [PL 1995, c. 470, §9 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 470, §19 (AFF).]

- **1. Vending requirements.** When the sale of cigarettes or any other tobacco product is made from a vending machine the following is required.
  - A. Only cigarettes or any other tobacco products may be dispensed by that machine. [PL 1995, c. 470, §9 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 470, §19 (AFF).]
  - B. A sign must be affixed conspicuously to the front of the machine. The sign must:
    - (1) Contain lettering that is at least 3/8 inches in height; and
    - (2) State the following: "WARNING. It is unlawful to sell tobacco products in this State to any person who has not attained 21 years of age, unless the person has attained 18 years of age as of July 1, 2018." [PL 2017, c. 308, §5 (AMD).]
  - C. [PL 2017, c. 308, §5 (RP).]

Vending machines may be located only in areas in which persons who are 21 years of age or older are allowed.

[PL 2017, c. 308, §5 (AMD).]

**2. Penalty.** Any person, firm or corporation, in control of a facility in which a vending machine is located, who violates this section commits a civil violation for which a forfeiture of not less than \$100 nor more than \$500 may be adjudged or for which the person, firm or corporation may be prohibited for a period of not more than 6 months from having a cigarette vending machine located on the premises or both.

[PL 1995, c. 470, §9 (NEW); PL 1995, c. 470, §19 (AFF).]

## SECTION HISTORY

PL 1995, c. 470, §9 (NEW). PL 1995, c. 470, §19 (AFF). PL 1997, c. 305, §2 (AMD). PL 2017, c. 308, §5 (AMD).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.