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§1531.  Care of infants after birth
1.  Prophylactic ophthalmic ointment and reporting requirement.  Every physician, midwife 

or nurse in charge shall instill or cause to be instilled into the eyes of an infant within 24 hours after its 
birth prophylactic ophthalmic ointment.  If one or both eyes of an infant become reddened or inflamed 
at any time within 4 weeks after birth, the midwife, nurse or person having charge of the infant shall 
report the condition of the eyes at once to the infant's primary care provider licensed under Title 32, 
chapter 36 or 48.
[PL 2019, c. 613, §1 (AMD).]

2.  Vitamin K injection.  Every physician, midwife or nurse in charge shall administer 0.5 or 1 
milligram, based on the infant's weight, of vitamin K to an infant intramuscularly within 6 hours after 
the infant's birth.
[PL 2019, c. 426, §1 (NEW).]

3.  Rulemaking.  The department shall adopt rules to implement this section, including, but not 
limited to, creating and making publicly available a brochure about the medical benefits and risks of 
administering the prophylactic ophthalmic ointment and vitamin K injection, and providing a form on 
which a parent can refuse the prophylactic ophthalmic ointment or vitamin K injection for the infant of 
that parent.
[PL 2019, c. 426, §1 (NEW).]
SECTION HISTORY
PL 1983, c. 848, §2 (NEW). PL 2019, c. 426, §1 (RPR). PL 2019, c. 613, §1 (AMD). 

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include 
the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects 
changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 131st Maine Legislature and is current through January 1, 2025. The 
text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the 
Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our 
goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to 
preserve the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the 
public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.


