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Maine Revised Statutes
Title 22: HEALTH AND WELFARE
Chapter 252: LEAD POISONING CONTROL ACT
§1322. CHILD OCCUPANTS

A person may not knowingly rent a dwelling that has been posted and ordered cleared of harmful lead-based substances in accordance with section 1321. In circumstances where the presence of lead-based paint or building materials is unsuspected and becomes known when the dwelling is already rented to a family with children, the family of the children may not be evicted for that reason and the owner and occupant of the dwelling must be given written notice by the department advising of the existence of lead-based substances in the dwelling and ordering that within 30 days the lead-based substances be removed, replaced or securely and permanently covered. [1999, c. 276, §15 (AMD).]
Until the owner brings any residential dwelling or premises into compliance with this Act while a tenant is occupying a dwelling unit, the owner shall move the tenant to a substitute dwelling unit upon reasonable notice. The department may, on a case-by-case basis, waive this requirement if the department determines that the implementation of interim controls sufficiently protects the residents of the unit until full abatement is achieved. The owner shall pay reasonable moving expenses and any use and occupancy charges for a substitute dwelling unit that exceed the rent for the vacated dwelling unit for which the tenant remains responsible. "Substitute dwelling unit" means a dwelling unit of like or similar accommodation and in like or similar location that is lead-safe. If the tenant fails to accept the substitute dwelling unit selected by the owner while the owner is required to bring the vacated dwelling unit into compliance with this Act or the tenant fails to remain current in rent pursuant to the lease or tenancy at will under Title 14, section 6002, including the statutory period of right to cure, the owner is not obligated beyond 10 days after completion of remediation to reimburse the tenant for any expense or inconvenience other than moving expenses and any use and occupancy charges for the substitute dwelling unit selected by the owner that exceed the rent for the vacated dwelling unit. [2003, c. 421, §9 (AMD).]
SECTION HISTORY
1973, c. 367, (NEW).  1975, c. 239, §9 (RPR).  1975, c. 293, §4 (AMD).  1991, c. 810, §29 (AMD).  1995, c. 453, §13 (AMD).  1999, c. 276, §15 (AMD).  2003, c. 421, §9 (AMD).
The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the following disclaimer in your publication:
All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legislature and is current through October 1, 2016. The text is subject to change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes Annotated and supplements for certified text.
The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve the State's copyright rights.
PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public. If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.
	Generated 1.5.2017
	
	  |  


	  |  
	
	Generated 1.5.2017


	Generated 1.5.2017
	
	  |  


