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Maine Revised Statutes

Title 22: HEALTH AND WELFARE

Chapter 263-A: COMPRESSED AIR

§1581. PURPOSE
The purpose of this chapter is to protect the public health; to regulate and license the suppliers of

compressed air used in self-contained breathing apparatus; to set up rules and regulations to establish the
maximum permissible amount of all contaminants expressed either in percentages or in parts per million
of volume, or both; to set up standards for the condition of the compression equipment; and to prescribe
penalties for violations of this chapter. [1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY
1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).

§1582. DEFINITIONS
As used in this chapter, unless the context otherwise indicates, the following words shall have the

following meanings. [1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).]

1. Breathing apparatus.  "Breathing apparatus" means any breathing device, either high or low
pressure, which is used to sustain human life under adverse conditions.

[ 1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW) .]

2. Department.  "Department" means the Department of Health and Human Services.

[ 1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW);  2003, c. 689, Pt. B, §6 (REV) .]

3. Suppliers of compressed air.  "Suppliers of compressed air" means any organization, agency,
individual, firm, partnership or corporation that provides compressed air to be used in self-contained
breathing apparatus.

[ 1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW) .]

4. Tester of compressed air.  "Tester of compressed air" means any organization, agency, individual,
firm, partnership or corporation that is recognized by the department as qualified to inspect and test suppliers
of compressed air.

[ 1993, c. 314, §1 (NEW) .]

SECTION HISTORY
1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).  1993, c. 314, §1 (AMD).  2003, c. 689, §B6
(REV).
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§1583. LICENSE
It is unlawful for any supplier of compressed air to fill or supply any breathing apparatus with life

supporting gases in the State of Maine unless licensed to do so by the department. The initial license fee and
the annual renewal license fee shall be $10, except that fire departments shall be exempt from the licensing
requirements of this chapter, so long as the use of the apparatus is restricted to departmental use. [1977,
c. 696, §185 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY
1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).

§1583-A. INSPECTIONS

1. Satisfactory inspection.  To be eligible for an initial or renewal license, a supplier of compressed
air must provide certification from a tester of compressed air based on an inspection in the 6 months prior to
application that the compressor equipment, air quality and compressor filling procedures are in compliance
with rules of the department.

[ 1993, c. 314, §2 (NEW) .]

2. Unsatisfactory inspection.  If any aspect of the supplier operation fails to meet department standards,
the tester of compressed air shall notify the department of the nature of the deficiencies. The department shall
evaluate the deficiencies and determine appropriate licensing action.

If the air provided by a supplier of compressed air exceeds the maximum permissible amount of any
contaminant, the tester of compressed air shall notify the supplier that operations must cease and the supplier
shall immediately cease operation until the reason is determined, corrections made and a retest conducted to
confirm that the contaminant no longer exceeds the maximum permissible amount. The department shall take
action to see that the supplier is not operating while this condition exists.

[ 1993, c. 314, §2 (NEW) .]

SECTION HISTORY
1993, c. 314, §2 (NEW).

§1584. FEES
All fees shall be collected by the department and remitted to the Treasurer of State and credited to the

General Fund. [1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY
1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).

§1585. RULES AND REGULATIONS
The department shall have the authority to promulgate rules and regulations as are necessary to promptly

and effectively enforce this chapter. [1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY
1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).
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§1586. PENALTY
Whoever violates any of the provisions of this chapter or any rules and regulations made thereunder

shall be punished by a fine of not less than $100, nor more than $500, or by imprisonment for not more than 6
months, or by both. [1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).]

SECTION HISTORY
1977, c. 696, §185 (NEW).

The State of Maine claims a copyright in its codified statutes. If you intend to republish this material, we require that you include the
following disclaimer in your publication:

All copyrights and other rights to statutory text are reserved by the State of Maine. The text included in this publication reflects changes
made through the Second Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legislature and is current through October 1, 2016. The text is subject to
change without notice. It is a version that has not been officially certified by the Secretary of State. Refer to the Maine Revised Statutes
Annotated and supplements for certified text.

The Office of the Revisor of Statutes also requests that you send us one copy of any statutory publication you may produce. Our goal
is not to restrict publishing activity, but to keep track of who is publishing what, to identify any needless duplication and to preserve
the State's copyright rights.

PLEASE NOTE: The Revisor's Office cannot perform research for or provide legal advice or interpretation of Maine law to the public.
If you need legal assistance, please contact a qualified attorney.

Generated
1.5.2017 §1586. Penalty   |  5


